Ellyse Perry wins third Belinda Clarke Award after an outstanding year

Ellyse Perry wins third Belinda Clarke Award after an outstanding year of cricket

Ellyse Perry
Ellyse Perry won her third Belinda Clarke Award at the Cricket Australia awards on Monday night, capping off a memorable 12 months for the cricketer.

Perry took out the award, the most prestigious in Australian cricket, with 161 votes, ahead of her teammates Alyssa Healy (153) and Jess Jonassen (87).

Having previously received the Belinda Clarke award in 2016 and 2018, Perry’s outstanding performance during the Ashes series last year helped secure her win in 2020.

During the voting period, January 8, 2019 to January 8, 2020, Perry scored 783 runs across three formats, averaging 97.87, and took 28 wickets.

During the Ashes, in second T20 against England, Perry became the first player, male or female, to reach 1000 runs and 100 wickets in T20 internationals.

Perry was also crowned women’s player of  the year by the International Cricket Council.

In one-day international cricket, Perry was a force for the Australian side. She was player of the match against New Zealand in Adelaide and against England in Leicester and Canterbury. In Canterbury, she claimed 7-22, the best ever one-day figures by an Australian woman.

Receiving the award came as a surprise to Perry, after her teammate Alyssa Healy was crowned one-day international and Twenty20 player of the year.

“I am incredibly flattered. You look at the contributions across the squad in the last 12 months. It has been incredible from so many players, not the least Alyssa Healy who took out every other award tonight. I am not really sure why I am sitting here,” Perry said.

“It’s always lovely to know you had an impact on the team and had been able to contribute to some success, which we had.”

Stay Smart! Get Savvy!

Get Women's Agenda in your inbox