North Queensland Cowboys joins expanding NRLW tournament

North Queensland Cowboys joins expanding NRLW tournament


The NRLW continues to expand this week with the announcement of North Queensland Cowboys joining the women’s rugby league tournament.

The club becomes Queensland’s third team in the NRLW, joining the Gold Coast Titans and Brisbane Broncos.

It will enter the 10-team tournament next year after the Wests Tigers, Canberra Raiders and Cronulla Sharks were awarded licences for the competition earlier this week. 

The NRLW was established in 2018 with just four teams, including St George Illawarra, Brisbane and Sydney Roosters. This year alone saw the addition of Newcastle, Parramatta and Gold Coast. 

At just 19, North Queensland Cowboys débuter Jordii Mahendrarajah said the latest announcement was a “pinch-me moment” for her.

“I’ve been playing since I was 10 years old with the boys,” she told ABC.

Meanwhile, Cowboys chief executive Jeff Reibel said the North Queensland women’s team took years of investing and building of local talent.

The name of the new women’s team is yet to be decided.

The club will spend the next twelve months recruiting players and coaching staff.

The NRL has said it intends to see a women’s side at every club. The second NRLW season this year will commence in late August. The 2023 NRLW season will start in August next year.

Stay Smart! Get Savvy!

Get Women's Agenda in your inbox